Comic Megastore Logo
Disclosure
This website is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. We are reader-supported. If you buy something through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no additional cost to you. This doesn't affect which products are included in our content. It helps us pay to keep this site free to use while providing you with expertly-researched unbiased recommendations.

The Best Nightwing Comics of 2021

  Updated on 16 October, 2021

Handpicked
Quality-Checked
Generated From 25K+ Reviews!
SaleBestseller No. 1
Nightwing Vol.1: Leaping into the Light (Nightwing, 1)
  • Hardcover Book
  • Taylor, Tom (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 160 Pages - 12/14/2021 (Publication Date) - DC Comics (Publisher)
Bestseller No. 2
Nightwing: Year One Deluxe Edition (Nightwing (1996-2009))
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Beatty, Scott (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 161 Pages - 06/30/2020 (Publication Date) - DC (Publisher)
Bestseller No. 3
Nightwing Vol. 1: Bludhaven
  • DC Comics
  • O'Neil, Dennis (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 288 Pages - 12/09/2014 (Publication Date) - DC Comics (Publisher)
Bestseller No. 4
Nightwing (2016-) Vol. 1: Better Than Batman
  • Amazon Kindle Edition
  • Seeley, Tim (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 164 Pages - 01/31/2017 (Publication Date) - DC (Publisher)
Bestseller No. 5
Nightwing by Peter Tomasi
  • Tomasi, Peter J. (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 360 Pages - 01/21/2020 (Publication Date) - DC Comics (Publisher)

Buyer's Guide: Nightwing Comics

Nightwing Comics - History of an Iconic Character

Nightwing Comics are a line of detective comics that is based off of the famous DC comics series. These titles feature the caped crusader, Dick Tracy, as well as the villains, The Riddler, The Phantom, and The Green Hornet. Recently, DC has also brought back some older forgotten characters from their past, in an attempt to get people interested again.

In the tradition of Batman, Robin, Batgirl, and super heroics, Nightwing has been a favorite of many readers since its first appearance in comic books. The Nightwing family is a team of vigilant crusaders, who pursue villains no matter where they hide. They pursue the criminals through any means available to them, including the help of motorcycles and bats. There have been a lot of changes over the years to Nightwing, making him an even more appealing comic book character for modern day readers.

Nightwing first made his comic book debut in Detective Comics #7. He was created by Bob Kane and Bill Finger, and featured in his own solo title in the following issues. He was a founding member of the Justice League before being given a starring role in the TV series, The New Batman TV show, which starred actors Whoopi Goldberg, Michael Chiklis, and Jennifer Garner. Since then he has appeared in a number of specials, video games, and has even developed a number of recurring supporting characters in both the Batman and Robin series.

The Riddler is one of the most evil villains in the history of Nightwing. He is obsessed with mind control and often tries to take over the city using his influence among the citizens. His goal is to rule Gotham City using any means necessary. Most of his crimes are committed by using his influence among the villains, as well as using his own network of henchmen. He often attacks the Bat Family, but if Batman gets into trouble he assists him by putting out the fire with the bat signal.

In some cases, the Riddler has taken over the criminal world after committing a crime, and although he tries to give Nightwing a hand, he's not always successful. In various continuity issues, the Riddler is sometimes shown as being more like a father figure to the Batman, especially after the death of the Dark Knight. Most of the time he's the bad guy, but he does have a personal reason for causing trouble, since he loves his daughter Talia al Ghul. He also has a unique device that allows him to take over the minds of other people using cards, so he can control what happens in each situation.

The Riddler is the mastermind behind many of the scams and schemes that occur in the Nightwing comics. He usually uses a magic club called the Rogues to accomplish his schemes. He is portrayed as being very intelligent, although he's actually quite charming. The Riddler is the only major villain who is shown learning English in the beginning of the comics, although most of the other characters learn it by Season Five.

One of the greatest villains in the Nightwing comics is the Green Lantern, which was created by legendary DC co-publisher, Bob Kane. Although he doesn't fight crime in the same way that Nightwing does, he is a much more dangerous and devious foe. Green Lantern deduces that the best method to defeat the Green Lantern is to trap him in a ring, where he can use his super power to protect the Earth. After taking over the city of New York, he battles Nightwing and Wonder Woman, but is defeated. He later captures Wonder Woman and takes over her haven, which leads to her rescue at the end of the story. Although it looks like the Riddler is the mastermind behind the whole plan, it is actually Wonder Woman who does it.

Some of the other interesting superheros include the Batmen of Gotham City and the Flash of Gotham City. These two titans have their own supporting cast of characters as well, including various Teen Titans and Justice League members. Although the Justice League is mostly known as a team of superheroes, there are many other lesser known members who can battle evil or go up against villains. Each of these titans collects in the Nightwing collections for both new readers and long time readers alike. They are well worth collecting for either category.